Beethoven 2006


cover-farbe-beethoven-01These three „avowal sonatas“, each in its own way, are immediately related to Beethoven´s personal fate.

The live recordings from different periods are related to my musical stages.

1 – 3 Piano Sonata in C minor op. 13 „Pathétique“ (1996)
4 – 6 Piano Sonata in A flat mayor op. 110 (2004)
7 – 8 Piano Sonata in C minor op. 111 (1989)

„The „Pathétique“, played by Andreas Mühlen, starts off a remarkably fascinating piano recital. And as early as in his first chords the interpreter showed a way of playing defined by strong accentuation and broadly drawn pauses that highlighted the fateful tragic of the statement.“

Recklinghäuser Zeitung

„In Beethoven´s next-to-last sonata A-flat major Mühlen shows what Beethoven`s music can give a person´s soul. His interpretation is clear, transparent, empathetic, hitting the desired simplicity of the work.“

Rheinische Post

„Mühlen achieved the most beautiful moments when, in the C minor work op.111, he traces the inner truth of the piece with his sensitive sounding – a narrator at the piano. Musical zest and well-measured tempi rubati made the Allegro con brio a real adventure.“

Westfälische Nachrichten Münster